California Senate President Pro Tempore Toni G. Atkins (SD-39) has generously issued a special matching challenge to support The Center’s Emergency Fund. All donations made between May 18 and May 22 will be personally matched by Atkins — dollar for dollar — up to $5,000. Atkins’ challenge is in honor of the late Harvey Milk, an American politician and gay rights activist, who would have turned 90 years old on May 22nd. 

The Harvey Milk Diversity Breakfast is designed to bring together more than 1,000 diverse San Diegans – business, labor, Democrats, Republicans, all communities, all ages, all San Diegans who support equality and justice – to celebrate the memory of this influential civil rights activist. Traditionally, The Center and our San Diego’s civil rights community would be joining together to celebrate Milk’s legacy at our annual Harvey Milk Diversity Breakfast. Unfortunately, this year’s celebration has been postponed due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

While postponing this event creates a financial loss for The Center, this matching opportunity — and the funds it will generate — will help bolster The Center’s Emergency Fund that is helping us deliver vital emergency services during this uncertain time.

By giving to The Center now, your contribution will go twice as far in supporting The Center’s Emergency Fund. With that in mind, please know that every level of gift will help The Center attain Atkins’ match in full. If you can, we hope you can contribute today so we may reach our $10,000  fundraising goal. Thank you.

2020 Harvey Milk Award Honorees

The Honorable Jackie Biskupski, Salt Lake City, Utah’s first openly gay mayor, will receive the Harvey Milk Lifetime Achievement Award. Biskupski served as a public official for Salt Lake City for more than 20 years and completed her term as mayor on January 6, 2020. While in the state legislature, and as mayor, she fought for LGBTQ equality, to halt the impacts of climate change, combat homelessness, strengthen public safety, and assist refugees.

The Honorable Robert Garcia, Mayor of Long Beach, California, will be honored with the Harvey Milk Champion of Equality Award. When elected mayor in 2014, Garcia became the first openly gay, first Latino, and youngest person to serve in that role in the city. As a former member of the Long Beach City Council, and now as mayor, Garcia has been a champion for LGBTQ equality, and has also been recognized for his leadership regarding affordable housing, education, sustainability, and economic development.

#HMDB throughout the years:

Help celebrate Harvey Milk Day and what would have been the 12th Annual Harvey Milk Diversity Breakfast this Friday, May 22. This Friday, we invite you to join us as we honor Harvey Milk and the Harvey Milk Diversity Breakfast by sharing some of your pictures from the event over the years using the hashtag #HMDB on social media. You can also participate by taking a photo of your breakfast and sharing on social media as we commemorate Harvey Milk’s 90th birthday.  While we will miss seeing our amazing community of supporters in person, we know that coming together virtually and sharing our memories will keep us united!

Close Menu